1. Skip to content

Winners of the 2017 Herefordshire & Worcestershire Sports Awards Announced

Winners of the 2017 Herefordshire & Worcestershire Sports Awards Announced

Posted: Fri, 24 Nov 2017 06:36

Winners of the 2017 Herefordshire & Worcestershire Sports Awards Announced

Community sport from across the two counties was celebrated at the 16th annual Herefordshire and Worcestershire Sports Awards.

Organised by the Herefordshire & Worcestershire Sports Partnership, the glittering event, which took place at Sixways Stadium, was attend by over 250 amateur and professional sports people, local businesses and dignitaries.

Stephen Brewster, CEO, of the Sports Partnership said, 'This has been our most successful awards to date. We received hundreds of nominations and 2,641 members of the public voted for the 'Sports Personality of the Year' Award.'

'I am always so inspired by the commitment of the athletes to their sport but also to the coaches and volunteers who give up their time to support the growth and development of local talent.'

Hockey gold-medal winning Rio-Olympian, Kate Richardson-Walsh OBE was guest speaker at the event, she said, 'This was a truly inspirational evening. Having retired from international hockey, I am determined to turn my experience towards coaching and encouraging the grassroots development of hockey.'

'I am heartened to see the passion for sport that exists within Herefordshire & Worcestershire.'

Hereford FC were named 'Sports Personality of the Year' claiming 30% of the public vote.

The Aspiring Talent Award went to Lucy Walton. Lucy is a multi-sport star, playing both hockey and golf at an international level. Lucy has also been selected to compete for the England Schools Golf Team, as well as the England Blue under-17 hockey team.

Ian Johnson was celebrated as the Unsung Hero. Ian delivers hockey coaching to over 40 children per week, is Chairman of Leominster Hockey Club and has represented Wales in masters hockey.

Other accolades were shared across the two counties with Worcester, Malvern, Hereford, Bromsgrove, Droitwich, Redditch, Leominster and Hagley all featuring.


Aspiring Talent Award: Lucy Walton, England Blue Hockey (U17) and England Schools Golf

Community Club of the Year: Luctonians Sports Club

Community Project of the Year: Bromsgrove Walking Hockey

BBC Power of Sport: Callum Williams, HHFS

Female Coach of the Year: Melinda Bennett, Colwall and Malvern Hockey Club

Male Coach of the Year: John Rees, Malvern Swords Fencing Club & GB Modern Pentathlon

Disabled Sportsperson of the Year: Craig Allen, British Para Table Tennis

Volunteer of the Year: Kevin Parsons, Community Rounders Project

Young Volunteer of the Year: Jacob Ottley, Redditch CC

Unsung Hero: Ian Johnson, Kingsland Mini Hockey / Leominster Hockey Club

Sports School of the Year: Hagley Primary School

Sports Personality of the Year: Hereford FC

Tags: Herefordshire, Sport Awards, Worcestershire